One Four Challenge: February 2016

Still Life - Great Things Grow here-

This year Robyn from Captivate Me has changed this challenge somewhat – only 4 times a year and also every month on Flickr.  It is hard to find the time sometimes so just doing it 4 times a year on my blog is great.  So for this year I am doing all 4 edits on one post.  A little easier to follow my thought processes.  But it also means keeping tabs on what I actually do.  That is hard as I just go with how I like what I see.

I am in the process of beginning to organise my entry into a competition in June for our local fruitgrowers association.  Every year they ask for art works to celebrate their produce.  This year the brief is ‘Good Things Grow Here’.

I have an idea-

Design Concept-20160227

This is for one entry.  At the top is a branch (I already have it and it is drying out in my garage).  Then I am going to have photos hanging from it showing the progress from blossoms through to the fruits hanging on the trees and then finally a still life which is what I have shown.

But I will be painting on top of the photos just to add a bit of colour.  So that meant processing the images.  This time I did write my editing down. I need to do this for every image so it is a better idea to keep track of what I have done,

Still Life - Great Things Grow here 1st Edit-

I knew that my final edit will lose a lot of detail so for my first edit I used the Nik HDR filter and then went to Colour Efex Pro 4 to add a glamour glow and sunlight filter to bring out the shine on the fruit and glass.

Still Life - Great Things Grow here 2nd Edit-

Then I added the Summer Days filter from Topaz for the second edit.

Black and White Version-3

Then I went to Illustrator to add another inner glow filter and the conte crayon filter to make it monochrome.

Final Version-

And here is my final edit.  The scratched bronze filter from Topaz.

For the actual painting I will add the colour to the fruit and glass to make it stand out.

onefourchallenge-2016-badge

Check out this great challenge over at Robyn’s blog

https://robynsfineart.wordpress.com/category/one-four-challenge/

12 thoughts on “One Four Challenge: February 2016”

  1. I love that you did this month’s challenge to suit your schedule. Good on you Raewyn. Really like them all. Wishing you success with the exhibition..and I hope there’s a chance we might see your finished mixed media too 😃😃 painting on photos is awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

