Cleaning up after Cyclone Cook

It is nearly midday day here in Hastings, New Zealand.  I am very late today.  I had a good reason.  Our power was out for over 13 hours.  It cut out last night around 9.30 PM, so I just went to bed.  What else is there to do.  So this morning I woke up very early.  And the power was still out.  So no coffee, no hot breakfast.  Just cold water and a cold hot cross bun.  Then the sound of the chain saw started up next door.  And this first image is why.  A tree blown over last night.

Actually the rain started about 10.30 yesterday morning.  That wasn’t so bad.  But towards the early evening, about 7 PM the winds started as the cyclone hit landfall.  It was rather hairy.  The trees were rocking a lot.  The trouble is that there was still a lot of leaves on the branches, so that when they got wet, the trees started getting top heavy.  At one point I heard a bang and the ground shook.  Now I know what that was – this tree falling.

I then went for a walk over in the park – there is a lot of cleaning up to do.

It was strange to wake up to clear blue skies and warm temperatures, with only a little wind after the fury last night.

So we are all ok.  Just a lot of cleaning up to do.  It was funny meeting all the neighbours in our pjs inspecting the damage though.

Thanks for all your concern.

