Cee’s Fun Fotos: A Serendipitous Green Story

Lime Green--2

Good morning from a warmer Hastings day.

I have had great news.  Both my children have done well in their first semesters at college.  My son Martin has got an A+ average for computer studies while my daughter Ruth got a B average for her Graphics and Design course.  My son even got a letter yesterday from the head of the computer studies department congratulating him on his scores.  Considering a year ago he wanted to drop out of school and go down to Christchurch to help with the rebuild.  What changed?  My husband threw us all out.  Martin was able to study without interruption and focus on getting his university entrance, our entry level exam for college/university.  On top of that he gained a scholarship to this college too.

It is a running joke with Martin that every time I went past his room I noticed he was playing computer games.  I would say something and he would say that he had finished his homework and was just having some down time.  The same thing happened this year.  Now I can’t say anything.  But I never really got annoyed as I trusted him.  He is a really responsible young man who is really focused on his future and wants to do well.  He was so shocked when he got his first assignment result – 100%.  I keep saying to him that he is in the right place if he is doing so well.  He is really enjoying it and does do a lot of research online too.  Not bad for someone who is dyslexic.

I am so proud of both of my children for going to college/university and following their dreams.  When Ruth was little she was constantly drawing.  On the walls too.  I never, ever caught her either.  It drove me nuts.  I was always buying paper for her after we came back to New Zealand and lots of colouring pencils and paints.  I was like that too as a child.  I took art through to our school certificate exams (15 years) where I got good marks for it.  My art teacher really wanted me to go to university to do a fine arts degree.  But it was not a option open to me.  I ended up going nursing.  Not a good choice in hindsight.

So I want to wish Ruth and Martin all the best for the next semester.  Follow your dreams.

I am now following my dream of photography and lately back into my painting.  Which brings me onto Cee’s Fun Foto challenge over at Cee’s Photography, which this week is to showcase our lime green or bright green photos.  Cee hosts three great challenges which really encourage me to work on improving my photos and also to look more around me and really appreciate what is there. So for me, it is a case of better late than never.

Lime Green-

Some bright green leaves last autumn.

Lime Green-003

And some photos from a green Rotorua.

Lime Green-006

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Lime or Bright Green

https://zainabjavid.wordpress.com/2015/07/14/cees-fun-foto-challenge-green/

GREEN GREEN GREEN – CEE’S FUN FOTO CHALLANGE

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Lime Green/ Bright green

This is also for Marilyn’s Serendipitous Story over at  SERENDIPITY

SERENDIPITY PHOTO PROMPT 2015 #14 – STUPID OLD PEOPLE

https://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2015/07/14/lime-and-bright-green-for-cees-fun-photos/

Thanks for visiting.

Copyright Raewyn Forbes

13 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Fotos: A Serendipitous Green Story”

  1. I know JUST how you feel. My granddaughter — who I was not sure would actually make it all the way through high school — managed to get through school on the honor roll for Senior Year — AND get scholarship money for college — and get INTO college. Against all odds. I didn’t think I’d live to see the day. It feels GREAT.

    Like

    1. As a parent it is a brilliant feeling. My ex would give them such a hard time and tried to discourage them both from going to college. He didn’t think they were smart enough. But they certainly are. They take after me.

      Like

Leave a comment

Middleton Road

How I see the world

Something to Ponder About

Musings on Life - Creative Writing - The Environment

Cindy Knoke

Photography, Birds and Travel

Carolisle

It's About Time...

Julie Powell - Photographer & Graphic Artist

Creating & Capturing Life's Precious Moments

Kathleen's Writings & Art

Poetry, Art and Photography

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

FabFourBlog

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

west517

west517 | the world we know

Six Pixx

Passionate photographer living in Hastings

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

Aperture64

Landscape and Still Life Photography By Benjamin Rowe

Visual Venturing

Because everyone likes pictures.

Talk About Pop Music

Streaming Forward, Powered By The Past - if you love the 80s music, new music, Eurovision, cheesy pop and awesome playlists then let's get this pop party started!

Live & Learn

I can't sleep...