Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Turquoise Waters & Serendipitous Trivia

Teal waters-036

Good morning from a cool Hastings day.

I know it is Thursday for me, which is why I always say good morning and give some account of the weather, brief or otherwise.  We are the first biggish country to see the new day.  Which I find somewhat confusing at times.  I can’t quite get my head around this date line thingy where one side of it is Thursday, while if you step over it to the other side it is Wednesday.

Why am I talking about the date line?  Well I was watching the excellent programme QI and it was one of the questions that they were discussing.  If you don’t know what QI is about check it up online

This isn’t the episode I was referring to but it is really one programme that I really can laugh out loud.  It would have taken too long to find it.  But the trivia that they come up with appeals to me. I remember trivia before I remember what is important, such as appointments and birthdays.  I remember once playing the game Trivial  Pursuit with my uncle.  He was very knowledgeable about trivia so I met my match. When I worked the nightshift in the spinal rehab unit in Auckland we would play Trivial Pursuit all night to pass the time.  I got banned. I kept winning.  So I had met my match with my uncle.  He was also banned from playing with his family due his very long winning streak.  Well guess who won?  It wasn’t my uncle.  But my uncle then spat the dummy and sulked for the rest of the day. All over trivia.

 So what has it to do with this fun foto challenge by Cee over at Cee’s Photography.  Well these photos were taken at Rainbow Springs at Rotorua so I thought I might add some trivia to go with the photos. I got this information from:

 http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/trout-and-salmon/page-2

Rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) were first introduced to New Zealand in the early 1880s. They are descended mainly from Californian steelheads – rainbow trout that migrate to sea and spend most of their lives there. However, New Zealand rainbow trout do not migrate to sea.

Teal waters-035

Distribution

Rainbow trout are less widespread than brown trout. There has been virtually no natural dispersal.

Ova imported in 1883 by the Auckland Acclimatisation Society survived, and fry were released into local waterways. In 1892 the species was liberated in Lake Rotorua, and in 1897 in Lake Taupō.

Rainbow trout can tolerate higher water temperatures than brown trout: they are found in warmer waters such as the Kai Iwi lakes in Northland. They also occur in a few rivers.

Teal waters-037

Features

Rainbow trout may reach 750 millimetres and more than 10 kilograms in New Zealand. Fish of 600 millimetres and 2–3 kilograms are often caught, and fish weighing 4–5 kg are not uncommon.

Most rainbows tend to live for four or five years, although individuals up to 11 years old have been recorded.

Life cycle

  • Several hundred to several thousand eggs are laid in a small hole by the female and fertilised by the male.
  • After 1–3 months the eggs hatch into alevins (fry with yolk sacs attached). These live in the gravel, feeding from their yolk sac.
  • They then emerge as fry, about 25 millimetres long. By late summer they have reached 50–70 millimetres.
  • As juveniles and spawning adults they live in streams, where they are exposed to predators on the banks.
  • Adults usually run upstream from a lake to spawn in late winter and early spring, in headwater streams with gravel beds. Not all rainbow trout survive spawning.

Much of the central North Island winter fishing is centred on rainbow trout running upstream from Lake Taupō to spawn in tributaries such as the famed Tongariro River.

Boring isn’t it really.  Actually these photos were taken on my honeymoon with my soon to be ex-husband.  Now that is more interesting but I won’t kiss and tell.

This is also for Marilyn’s challenge over at SERENDIPITY.

SERENDIPITY PHOTO PROMPT 2015 #15 – SUNLIGHT THROUGH LEAVES

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Teal or Turquoise

https://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2015/07/21/really-silly-for-cees-fun-photos/

TURQUOISE – THE SKY STONE

https://nowathome.wordpress.com/2015/07/22/turquoise-water/

cees-fun-foto

Thanks for visiting.

Copyright Raewyn Forbes

5 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Turquoise Waters & Serendipitous Trivia”

Leave a comment

Middleton Road

How I see the world

Something to Ponder About

Musings on Life - Creative Writing - The Environment

Cindy Knoke

Photography, Birds and Travel

Carolisle

It's About Time...

Julie Powell - Photographer & Graphic Artist

Creating & Capturing Life's Precious Moments

Kathleen's Writings & Art

Poetry, Art and Photography

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

FabFourBlog

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

west517

west517 | the world we know

Six Pixx

Passionate photographer living in Hastings

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

Aperture64

Landscape and Still Life Photography By Benjamin Rowe

Visual Venturing

Because everyone likes pictures.

Talk About Pop Music

Streaming Forward, Powered By The Past - if you love the 80s music, new music, Eurovision, cheesy pop and awesome playlists then let's get this pop party started!

Live & Learn

I can't sleep...