One Word Photo Challenge: Distortion

dsc_020301x

Good morning from a cool sunny day here in Hastings.

Firstly I  must apologise for not being around much.  But there is a good reason. For the past 2 1/2 years, since splitting from my ex-husband, I have been living on an assisted living benefit.  I suffer from long term chronic fatigue syndrome, which comes and goes.  So it is hard for me to go back to my original career which was nursing.  So it was a change of direction for where to go from here to actively work and earn a decent living.  Age is definitely a factor too. Selling my knitwear at the market was never going to earn me a living.   So for the past few years I have been toying with the idea of being a nail technician.

Why that, you may well ask?

Well it is an extension of my artwork.  I have always loved nail polish and beautiful nails, but was never able to wear it for my nursing career. Now with all the nail art around, I thought it was a way for me to work, in miniture, so to speak, without it being too strenuous.  My ex-husband wouldn’t let me do a course.  But I got a lovely tax return and was able to afford to do a 5 day introductory course which was last week.  I loved it.

I got a buzz out of making beautiful nails for those who despaired of having lovely long nails.  When I was low with my condition, having nice nails always made me feel better.  So, if I am not around much, it means I am working. Which is always good.

I have a long term plan.  I want to be fully independent by the end of next year.  I do not want to end up on a small pension, living in a small council flat with little money to live on. This career means I can continue doing it long after I am supposed to be on a pension.

So wish me luck.  I already have some clients lined up next week, which is nice.

dsc_020701x

So onto Jennifer’s great challenge this week, which is all about distortion.  While in Wellington last month I took a lot of photos of distorted reflections.  I love the crazy patterns that the reflections make.

dsc_028701x

By the way, thank you for supporting my Monochrome of the Day images.  They were all taken from a moving car on the day I went down to Fielding a few weeks ago.

Thanks for visiting.

 

 

owpc-logo-21

One Word Photo Challenge: Distortion

23 thoughts on “One Word Photo Challenge: Distortion”

  1. Oh, Raewyn I was so touched by your story. I too am a nurse and am unable to work. I am SO proud of you for not giving up. I would love to one day be able to make a good (really good) living from my art. In some way, in some form. OH that would just make me fly. I couldn’t be happier for you! I wish I could really HUG you!!! And as for these pics, they are SO cool!!! Nice job! Much Love, ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

