Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: This land is my land, Hastings, New Zealand

082 (640x487)

This is such a fun challenge by Cee for this series.

This week it is two verses from the song This Land is My Land:

As I was walking that ribbon of highway, 
I saw above me that endless skyway: 
I saw below me that golden valley: 
This land was made for you and me.
 I’ve roamed and rambled and I followed my footsteps, 
To the sparkling sands of her diamond deserts; 
And all around me a voice was sounding: 
This land was made for you and me.

I remember singing this at school, but we changed it to suit New Zealand.  So here are some photos around where I live – taken last autumn.

First up is the orchards – Hastings is known as the fruit bowl of New Zealand.

068 (640x485)

At once stage our economy was based on lamb and wool.  Now it is dairy but the sheep are still used to keep the grass low around the orchards in autumn.

Pakowhai Park  Fantail (640x487)

One of our native birds, the Fantail.

Pakowhai Park - flaxes (485x640)

Our native flax plants.

Pakowhai Park. (485x640)

Pakowhai Park and our native bush.

Pakowahi Park 2 (640x487)

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: This Land Is My Land, 2 verses

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: This Land is My Land (two verses)

cees-fun-foto

Thanks for visiting.

Cheers

18 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: This land is my land, Hastings, New Zealand”

  1. You have given me some inspiration for this challenge Raewyn, thank you. Great idea. Seems sheep are on the nose in NZ as well. Soon will not be able to buy good quality woollen products…and then the oil supply will run out. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Middleton Road

How I see the world

Something to Ponder About

Musings on Life - Creative Writing - The Environment

Cindy Knoke

Photography, Birds and Travel

Carolisle

It's About Time...

Julie Powell - Photographer & Graphic Artist

Creating & Capturing Life's Precious Moments

Kathleen's Writings & Art

Poetry, Art and Photography

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

FabFourBlog

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

west517

west517 | the world we know

Six Pixx

Passionate photographer living in Hastings

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

Aperture64

Landscape and Still Life Photography By Benjamin Rowe

Visual Venturing

Because everyone likes pictures.

Talk About Pop Music

Streaming Forward, Powered By The Past - if you love the 80s music, new music, Eurovision, cheesy pop and awesome playlists then let's get this pop party started!

Live & Learn

I can't sleep...