Serendipitous Photo Story: What is a doofer

What's a Doofer-1962

Marilyn from SERENDIPITY has started up a weekly challenge of writing little stories to our photos.  I am starting to write a little more for some of my posts.  And this photo just begs for a story.

doofer
ˈduːfə/
noun

informal
plural noun: doofers
  1. an object or device of unspecified name or nature.

On Monday we had a public holiday.  So I went over to my parents place to sort out their curtains, which had been destroyed by Socks their cat.  That was explained in my post yesterday about how naughty he was.

https://decocraftsdigicrafts.wordpress.com/category/weekly-pet-share/

When we go over to my parents we try not to eat there.  They have a lunch time concert when they put on a video of Andre Rieu.  I’m sorry Mum and Dad, I do like him, just not while I am eating. Also we don’t like to impose ourselves too much.

So we left Napier feeling very hungry.  My son owed me some takeaways so he decided we should eat Burgerfuel – here you can find out about the history of this New Zealand burger chain:

http://www.burgerfuel.com/nz/history

Anyway, to cut a long story short we went there and ordered our burgers.  I embarrassed my son terribly by getting out my camera to take photos.  They had some great stools and lighting fixtures.  What made matters worse was that he had gone to school with our server.  Oops.  We did have a discussion as to whether to eat there or to go home.  We decided to go home to eat them.  Our home is only a matter of minutes away anyway.

Just as well.  The burgers are not like the generic Burger King or MacDonalds.  They are massive.  The meat patty was huge, there was a lot of lettuce,tomatoes and beetroot.  Not to mention lashings of sauce.  Very yummy sauce I might add.  So it was very messy.  So just as well we didn’t eat at Burgerfuel.  We would have been even more embarrassed by our messy eating.

After we had finished I looked into the bag and discovered these cardboard doofers.  What are these for we asked ourselves?  I then googled doofers and found out that they are used to hold the burgers together  and keep your hands clean.

Since I didn’t take any photos due to my very slippery hands here is the explanation of what they actually do.

So the moral of this story is: Check what is in your bag before eating, you never know what you will find.

https://nommmz.wordpress.com/2009/09/20/burgerfuels-wagyu-burger/

That was definitely our doh moment.

SERENDIPITOUS PHOTO STORY PROMPT – WEDNESDAY, 2015 #3

Thanks for visiting.

Copyright Raewyn Forbes

4 thoughts on “Serendipitous Photo Story: What is a doofer”

Leave a comment

Middleton Road

How I see the world

Something to Ponder About

Musings on Life - Creative Writing - The Environment

Cindy Knoke

Photography, Birds and Travel

Carolisle

It's About Time...

Julie Powell - Photographer & Graphic Artist

Creating & Capturing Life's Precious Moments

Kathleen's Writings & Art

Poetry, Art and Photography

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

FabFourBlog

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

west517

west517 | the world we know

Six Pixx

Passionate photographer living in Hastings

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

Aperture64

Landscape and Still Life Photography By Benjamin Rowe

Visual Venturing

Because everyone likes pictures.

Talk About Pop Music

Streaming Forward, Powered By The Past - if you love the 80s music, new music, Eurovision, cheesy pop and awesome playlists then let's get this pop party started!

Live & Learn

I can't sleep...