Update on Cyclone Pam

Cyclone Pam weather graphic

Just to let everyone know that at the moment it is still quiet.  The rain this morning didn’t last long but we have had a bit of wind.

The cyclone has been downgraded from a category 5 to a category 3 but that it is still huge.  I am fully expecting us to lose power at some stage over night as we have power lines down our street and they will be in for a hammering.  So I will schedule a post and when the power does come back on I will post again.

The hardest part is waiting around for it to hit.  Even the birds have been crazy this afternoon.  They were busy picking grasses and food everywhere.  I have taken a few photos.  Then all of a sudden they flew off.  They know something is on the way.

I have just seen photos of Vanuatu and that is devastated and desperately need help and aid.

I was supposed to go horse riding tomorrow but that has been postponed until next Monday.  I have told my son to check with his college to see if they will be closed for the day as well.  I can’t see many people will be on the roads tomorrow.

So will catch up with everyone after the cyclone has passed,

Copyright

Travel Theme: Fantastic

Doorway to another world

Good morning from a dark and rainy Hastings morning. Yesterday was another nice day, hot and not much wind.  So again it was surreal knowing that today the weather is going to turn to custard.

Satellite image from MTSAT geostationary satellite shows Cyclone Pam near Vanuatu. Photo / JMA

Satellite image from MTSAT geostationary satellite shows Cyclone Pam near Vanuatu. Photo / JMA

It is scary to know that Civil Defence has been set up here in the Hawke’s Bay and up north in the Bay of Plenty and Gisborne. On our news websites there is a lot of information about coping with disasters.  Vanuatu has been badly hit with winds up to 340 km/hour.  It will be downgraded by the time it hits us but it will still be a rough couple of days.  As I am writing this just now the heavens has just opened up with very heavy rain.

Onto this challenge by Ailsa at Where’s my backpack?.  Her post yesterday was a touching tribute to the wonderful Terry Pratchett who died on Friday our time. So our prompt this week is anything fantastical or fantastic.

My photos were taken with my IPhone 5S at Pakowahi Park which was in itself a fantastical place to escape from the world and enjoy the native bush and listen to the birdsong. I had to resort to my phone after the camera’s battery died on me.

This first photo I found when I was walking through the trees and saw the sun hitting on a tree in the distance.  I rather like the affect the sun had on making the bush in the distance look like another world completely.

Spooky plant

Another spooky plant. I deliberately edited so that the plant seemed to glow.

Willow Reflections

Some surreal reflections.  I struggled with the colours in this one but then threw in the towel as we are into autumn so the leaves are starting to change colour and so I just went with it.

Fairies flying off

Finally a plant where the fairies are leaving home.

Thanks for visiting.

Travel theme: Fantastic

https://woollymuses.wordpress.com/2015/03/15/travel-theme-fantastic/

Thanks for visiting.

Copyright

Middleton Road

How I see the world

Something to Ponder About

Musings on Life - Creative Writing - The Environment

Cindy Knoke

Photography, Birds and Travel

Carolisle

It's About Time...

Julie Powell - Photographer & Graphic Artist

Creating & Capturing Life's Precious Moments

Kathleen's Writings & Art

Poetry, Art and Photography

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

FabFourBlog

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

west517

west517 | the world we know

Six Pixx

Passionate photographer living in Hastings

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

Aperture64

Landscape and Still Life Photography By Benjamin Rowe

Visual Venturing

Because everyone likes pictures.

Talk About Pop Music

Streaming Forward, Powered By The Past - if you love the 80s music, new music, Eurovision, cheesy pop and awesome playlists then let's get this pop party started!

Live & Learn

I can't sleep...