Steve’s Snap & Zap Challenge: Birds

IMG_0444 (640x473)

This is a fun challenge from Steve

Snap & Zap: The Seagulls…

olden-selfie1

  1. Create a new post showing the original
  2. What edits have you made?
  3. What software/techniques have you used?
  4. Link back to the current week’s page

So the top image is my original looking up at a seagull on a tarpaulin.

First I edited it with Snapseed with the drama filter and HDR

IMG_0441 (640x453)

Then I headed over to Distressed FX and sorry I can’t remember what filter I used there.IMG_0442 (640x453)

Just for a bit of colour.

Then I played around with Photoscape.

Backlit (640x473)

First I added a backlit filter.

watercolour pencil (640x473)

Then added a watercolour pencil filter. Too light and not enough definition.

pen (640x473)

So then I added a pen filter.  Still not enough for my liking.

backlit 2 (640x473)

So some more backlit filters.

So let me know which is your favourite version.

Actually it is has been a bird theme week for me.  And just to prove that birds are around me, yesterday we had a visit from a mother duck and her 10 babies.  A long way from Cornwall Park.  Unfortunately we were too busy trying to catch them instead of taking photos.  It took about a couple of hours.  We caught about 7 of the ducklings but the mother duck kept flying around getting distressed and the other 3 ducklings kept going around in circles in the shrubbery.  In the end the ducklings we had caught were put in an empty rabbit hutch and the neighbour came back a couple of hours later to find the mother duck by the hutch with her 3 lost babies.  So they were all then caught and taken back to the park, which I might add is a couple of kilometers away.  😀

IMG_0435 (436x640)

Just to show Steve I was thinking of his theme last week which was walking.  – the final edited version of my photo last week.

Thanks for visiting.

Cheers

Phoneography Challenge: Black and White

IMG_0410 (506x640)

Good morning from another grey Hastings day.

Since it is the third week of October it is black and white for Sally’s challenge:

http://lensandpensbysally.wordpress.com/2014/10/20/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-photo-challenge-black-and-white-architecture/

You might recognise this first photo.  It is the one I used for my post on twins for Nancy Merrill’s challenge:

http://nadiamerrillphotography.wordpress.com/2014/10/16/a-photo-a-week-challenge-twins/

https://decocraftsdigicrafts.wordpress.com/2014/10/17/a-photo-a-week-twins/

IMG_0412 (506x640)

IMG_0411 (512x640)

Everything looks so different in black and white.  All taken with my iPhone 5S and edited on my phone with Snapseed.

I am starting to see some photos from the iPhone 6 and 6Plus.  They look great but I am still very happy with my 5S.  I brought it in February so it is not that old and I am really happy with the quality of the images with it.  I didn’t like my 4S as it was not as clear so I noticed the difference when I upgraded.

http://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2014/10/20/phoneography-and-non-slr-digital-devices-photo-challenge-black-and-white-french-chic/

Thanks for visiting and I will catch up with you later.

681bc884db3d2fc1ca2c0aefa62fb58c1

Cheers

Middleton Road

How I see the world

Something to Ponder About

Musings on Life - Creative Writing - The Environment

Cindy Knoke

Photography, Birds and Travel

Carolisle

It's About Time...

Julie Powell - Photographer & Graphic Artist

Creating & Capturing Life's Precious Moments

Kathleen's Writings & Art

Poetry, Art and Photography

Dan Frugalberg

Life lived simply

FabFourBlog

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

west517

west517 | the world we know

Six Pixx

Passionate photographer living in Hastings

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

Aperture64

Landscape and Still Life Photography By Benjamin Rowe

Visual Venturing

Because everyone likes pictures.

Talk About Pop Music

Streaming Forward, Powered By The Past - if you love the 80s music, new music, Eurovision, cheesy pop and awesome playlists then let's get this pop party started!

Live & Learn

I can't sleep...